Looping through excel as variable to perform web task

Hi,

Anyone can help me what should i do with my case. im a newbie with no knowledge about UIPATH but i am looking forward to learning this tool.

My case is
I have an excel file that will contain the configurations for my robot,
2 columns for “Target folder” and then the other is “Folder to download”
the case will be:

1. Target folder will be dynamic so when i land in microsoft teams (browser) it will look for that folder and then click on it.
  2. Once Clicked, It will look for the 2nd column from the excel to get the Folder to be downloaded “Folder to download”.
    Then proceed to next row to perform the same task.

Hi @Jonathan_J

Here is the steps to achieve your scenario.

Step 1. Use ‘Read Range’ activity to read excel file and store the result in a DataTable (ex:ConfigurationDT)
Step 2: Use ‘For Each Row’ activity to loop through each row in the DataTable(ex:ConfigurationDT)
Step 3: Create couple of variables to store ‘Target Folder’ (Ex:TargetFolder) and ‘Folder to Download’. (Ex:FolderToDownload) value. Variable type should be string.
Step 4. Inside the loop assign value of respective Table Row to variables as in the inline screenshot.
Step 5: Perform the actions on MS teams based the variable values.
Step 6. This process will continue till the last item/row in the DataTable .

Hope this will help you. Thank you.

1 Like

Hi Sir, I appreciate this will try it now.

Thank you very much!

1 Like

@Jonathan_J Please let me know if you have any other doubts on this.

Hi Sir, May i ask what did you write inside the Multiple Assign?

@Jonathan_J

In Multiple Assign you can declare your variable and write as row(“ColumnName”).ToString

Hope this may help you

Thanks

1 Like

Thank you! im trying to write it now

row(“TheColumnNameYouWantToUse”).ToString.Trim

In your case,

row(“TargetFolder”).ToString.Trim
row(“FolderToDownload”).ToString.Trim

1 Like

Thank you sir! i ran it and i got the message