Looping through datatable and passing value to next sub process

We are creating a bot that reads in a datatable from excel and then takes the Reference number from each row for inputting into a system to grab certain data from certain screens (using For Each row in DataTable).

We have 1 big workflow to go through the whole process but understand that we need to be splitting this down into smaller sub processes.

In best practice, do we nest and invoke the sub process flow charts within the For Each loop?

Could someone provide an example of how it should be done please?

1 Like

A flow chart within a for each row can be used but instead - you can simply use a flowchart and assign the row you are working on and use an increment to move onto the next row.

This will then help by breaking it down into smaller components (sub flow charts) via invokes)

Thanks for the quick response!

Sorry, I am new to the flow chart concept as we have been working on getting the process working first. How do I go about assigning the row and iterating through the table?

Hi there @fbxiii,
In an ideal World, you’d have one process (Load/Dispatcher) dedicated towards:

• Reading the given Excel document
  • Iterating through each row
  • Adding each Reference Number to an Orchestrator queue

With a second process (Work/Performer), aiming to process the retrieve the next available item and complete the case.

Obviously, not everyone has access to a Production instance of Orchestrator, so this may not be feasible.

In that circumstance, retrieve the Reference Number one row at a time, process it, then increment the counter and work the subsequent case.

For instance, have a counter (of type Integer), starting at 0 (if appropriate), access your DT through yourDataTable.Rows(intCounter).Item(“Reference Column”).ToString. Following this, process the case, then increment the counter (intCounter = intCounter + 1).