How To Talk About Selectors With A Programmer

Hi all,

My question is a bit complex, so allow me to provide some background (I’ll put at TL;DR at the end). I’ve been the lead RPA developer at my company for a while, but my background isn’t in computer science. Sometimes I run into problems with non-existent, or worse, inconsistent selectors working with certain software. For software that hardly produces any selectors at all (like Adobe Creative Cloud software), I can at least speculate as to the cause: perhaps the software is written in a programming language that UiPath doesn’t understand, or maybe security settings are preventing UiPath from interfacing with the software. However, when selectors sometimes exist and sometimes don’t, without any rhyme or reason that I can discern, it’s much harder to explain or find a solution.

Allow me to elaborate on one software that keeps giving me trouble. My company uses TouchPoint by Enghouse Interactive, an email management system. Inside TouchPoint, I can view different email queues that list subject, sender, time received, etc. in a datatable-like format. Sometimes when I look at an email queue, each row of the table with have distinct and intelligible selectors. Other times, the exact same list will not have any selectors; UiPath sees the entire queue as one big element with no meaningful children. When that happens, trying to get the selectors back is like feeling around in the dark. I have the robot click on the list, minimize, maximize, and move the window, restart the software, log out and back into the queue, etc. I’ve yet to discover a method that consistently restores the selectors.