How to scrape specific data from text file

Hi all,
I am a newbie here.
I need to scrape specific data from below mail body which is saved in text file -
Dear valued Customer,
These are the details we received,

First Name : abc
Last Name : xyz
Email : xyz@gmail.com
Feedback for : xyz Services

Best regards,
abc

I need to extract Name,Email,Feedback for and Feedback from the text file and paste it in an excel file for about 20 mails.

How do I do that?Please help…
Thanks in advance.

2 Likes

Hell @ys0217 and welcome to the community!!
We can extract those values easily with Regex Matches activity (There is even a tutorial for it on UiPath Academy!).

You can use these patterns to get the desired values:

(?<=First Name :).*

(?<=Last Name :).*

(?<=Email :).*

(?<=Feedback for :).*

(?<=Feedback :).*

Go ahead and try it, and give us a response if you find something hard.

2 Likes

Thanks a lot for ur response. Regex concept is completely new for me. Is there any other way to do it ?

1 Like

@ys0217 Yes you can read text file line by line and split based on : so you can get the result

I tried this but I’m getting array index out of bounds exception when I try to add the result into collection.

@ys0217 Can you share the screenshot of error

1 Like

Invoices.xaml (9.7 KB)

here is an example

Hi

Welcome to uipath community
Hope this would help you resolve this
—hope you have the mail message ready in a variable or inside a for each loop activity with list of mailmessage variable from get outlook mail activity
—let’s take we have for each loop activity with the variable obtained from get outlook mail activity as input
—now inside the loop use a assign activity like this
Outmailbody = item.Body.ToString
—another assign activity as
Outbodystring = String.Join(“ “,Outmailbody.Split(Environment.Newline.Toarray(),StringSplitOptions.RemoveEmptyEntries))

—now we will be getting the individual values
With some set of assign activities like this