How to Rename a downloaded file and save its path into existing column of an excel

Hie,
I am a rookie at Uipath and unable to solve this issue. I have a datatable with 6 rows.
for each row, i need to make web automation and download a pdf thereby downloading 6 pdf files for 6 rows.

for each row, i need to make web automation and download a pdf into specific folder called “PDFs” thereby downloading 6 different pdf files for 6 rows.

For each row, i need to rename the downloaded pdf file, and save it to a cell of “attachment_path” column in datatable. So that, in later i can send 6 different attachments to 6 "mail_Id"s of that datatable.

I need to rename the topmost file generated in “PDFs” for each row. like “PDFs”(0) and save its path into excel before generating next pdf.

please help. any idea is genuinely appreciated.

Hey @Srikavya_n

I tried to make a simulation from how I understood the process described.
PdfManipulation.zip

1. Created a CSV file to mimic the one described by you - in this, after the robot runs we will see the update take place.
  2. The robot asks you to choose which pdf you would like to download - out of the 6 pdfs.
  3. Folder “Web” stores 6 pdfs as “they were on the web”.
  4. Folder “PDFs” is the download folder from your description. The bot simulates a download action from “Web” folder to “PDFs” folder by using a copy action.
  5. The bot renames the file “downloaded” in “PDFs” folder as desired.
  6. The renamed pdf file path is updated in the data.csv. Open data.csv after running the robot to see the changes take effect.

Re-start the robot and choose another pdf to download. After running it, check the updated results in data.csv

Delete the files from “PDFs” folder and remove the data from “attachment_path” column if you would like to start the process from the beginning.