How to extract all pages of a PDF based on a specific Text?

I am a beginner to UiPath. I have gone through the videos and tutorials on the web as and when needed. However, there is a problem which I havent had success with.

Problem Statement -

There is a PDF file consisting of 500 pages or more.
Each page may or may not have a text like ‘Block 01’. The number for each block varies.

For example, the first pdf page might have ‘Block 01’.
Second page might not have anything.
The third page could contain ‘Block 02’.
The third page may have ‘Block 04’.
Each page can have a maximum of one Block (No).

How can I read all those pages containing a Block and then combine the Blocks(page) into a single pdf with each pdf associated with a particular Block (No).

Please suggest.
Thanks All.

Hello,

One approach sticking with UiPath activities would be to:

• Read each page
  • Check if it contains the string
  • If a match, keep track of the page number
  • At the end, extract retained pages in one document

Below you’ll find a skeleton with emphases on some key points.

Assign (Int32)
Initialise a counter (the page number)
page = 0

Assign (List of String)
A list of string were we’ll stack the matching page numbers
pages = New List(Of String)

Get PDF Page Count
Get the number of page in the document
lastPage

While (page < lastPage)

• Assign
    Increment the counter
    page = page + 1

• Read PDF Text
    With range set to page, you get a string
    pageText

• If System.Text.RegularExpressions.Regex.isMatch(pageText, “\bBlock \d+\b”)
    If the text contains “Bock (No)”, do the following:

• Add To Collection (page.ToString to pages)
      We’re adding the page number to the list of retained pages

// We’ve reach the number of pages in the document, it’s time to generate the document

Extract PDF Page Range
Create a new document from the original passing the range argument the pages retained
range = String.Join(", ", pages)

2 Likes