File drive search

Hello everybody!
I am a beginner in automation with UiPath. I want to search a file drive by first name and last name from an Excel spreadsheet. Does anyone have an approach how I can get started? I am thankful for every help!

1 Like

Hey @degen,

Something like below

Directory.GetDirectories("C:\Users\Nithin Krishna\Downloads\", "*" + FirstNameVar + "*" + LastNameVar + "*").Count

First argument should be your core directory to search & Second should be your search pattern for the directory in your case its firstname & lastname.

Hope this helps.

Feel free to post for any queries.

Hey @Nithinkrishna, thank you for your help.
It works! I thought about extending the automation as follows:

The robot should search for files on a drive (e.g. D:) that contain a first name and last name. PDF files, Excel files, Word files, Access files are to be considered. The found files should be listed in an Excel table. The list contains a consecutive number, the file name and the file path. All found files and the created Excel table should be stored in a folder on the file drive. An e-mail is to be sent that the search has been completed and the files have been stored in drive XY. If no files were found, a negative information is to be sent by e-mail.

Can you assist me to automate this use case?

1 Like

Sure @degen, Why not :slight_smile:

1. Just replace the function GetDirectories with GetFiles to search for files
  2. Build a data table with two columns - file name & path
  3. Use for-each to iterate the list got from step1
  4. Add data row on every iteration as - {Path.GetFileName(item), Path.GetFullPath(item)}
  5. Send email using mail activity package - Attach a file as well

Hope this helps.

Feel free to post any more queries

@Nithinkrishna it doesn’t work :frowning:

I think it has a failure in the for each row.

Can you check it with the attached file?

Main.xaml (9.0 KB)

Hi @degen,

First check the file is already exists are not the contine.