Error opening workbook. Make sure Excel is Installed. (Interface not registered)

Yes, I have checked all the other “Error opening workbook, make sure excel is installed” posts and they all didn’t work for me. I found a solution to my issue and wanted to share it, hoping that it helps someone else, because dammit - it took me DAYS to resolve this issue and I haven’t seen it anywhere else on this forum.

Disclaimer:
I cannot take credit for this solution, because I found it here: UiPath - issue - "Make sure Excel is installed.the QueryInterface call on the COM component for the interface with IID '{000208D5-0000-0000-C000-000000000046}' failed due to the following error: In " - coco1989 - 博客园

and here: FAQs COM Errors · phw198/OutlookGoogleCalendarSync Wiki · GitHub

I’m simply writing it down for ease (also, I can’t read chinese so I had to google translate that and figure out what to do, this is to help those who can’t too) I’m not a computer expert so I highly recommend you try all other options before attempting this. Some solutions can be found here: I get an: Error opening workbook. Make sure excel is installed - #2 by Corneliu_Niculite

Please please PLEASE be careful if you’re editing the registry.

The Issue:

Error opening workbook. Make sure Excel is installed.

Exception Type: System.Exception

An ExceptionDetail, likely created by IncludeExceptionDetailInFaults=true, whose value is:
System.Exception: Error opening workbook. Make sure Excel is installed. ----> System.InvalidCastException: Unable to cast COM object of type ‘Microsoft.Office.Interop.Excel.ApplicationClass’ to interface type ‘Microsoft.Office.Interop.Excel._Application’. This operation failed because the QueryInterface call on the COM component for the interface with IID ‘{000208D5-0000-0000-C000-000000000046}’ failed due to the following error: Interface not registered (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80040155).