Custom code or Built in Activity - How to automate two scenarios mentioned in this post

Hi All,

Please, read every single word and example carefully :slight_smile:

I am working on an automation project where I am trying to match a value in the client’s application to the accurate item in the drop down menu.

I am new to programming and I don’t really know how to proceed further.

Can anybody provide me with guidelines to work on following queries:

1. Consider this scenario as shown in the previous post:

Client’s Loan Application system has a Block with value ‘1’

But the website on which I have to select this parameter under drop down have multiple different values in different formats such as

a) on HSBC, the drop down menu for Block Field for different building names contain items in following formats -

For some building it could be
Example:

Block/ Tower 1
Block/ Tower 2
Block/ Tower 3
Block/ Tower 4

For other buildings it could be totally unrelated to the Block value itself i.e. the item in the Block field of HSBC could be the street name of the Building or Street(Which really doesn’t make sense to anyone - Don’t know why HSBC designed it that way)

Example:

Kennedy Street

or it could be

Hsyan Building

In the second scenario for HSBC I am thinking of throwing an exception and asking the client to select the correct item manually.

a) on Hang Seng Bank’s website, the drop down menu for Block Field for different building names contain items in following formats -

For some building it could be
Example:

Beverly Villas Block 1
Beverly Villas Block 2
Beverly Villas Block 3
Beverly Villas Block 4

or

Beverly Villas Tower 1
Beverly Villas Tower 2
Beverly Villas Tower 3
Beverly Villas Tower 4

or

Beverly Villas Tower 1 Regent Estate
Beverly Villas Tower 2 Parker Town
Beverly Villas Tower 3 Amber Garden
Beverly Villas Tower 4 Wyndham Light