Csv to DataTable fields typing

Hello,

I’m new with UI-Path. I used Read CSV to transform CSV to DataTable. As a result, all fields are string typed, that does not make it easy to use Filter activity on some dates or amounts.
What is the correct approach ?

• Use another activity that read CSV and provide DataTable with typed fields, maybe with the help of a schema ?
  • Using classic CSV activity, and use LinQ to build anonymous types, but I saw the compiler doesnt support it, that and other things as let or tuples (probably compiler options and scope)
  • Using classic CSV activity, and use LinQ to transform DataRow to a strong type I defined in a custom .Net library i wrote and import ?
  • Using Excel to import CSV and hope the typing will be done at “opening time”. (but I dont know how to recover DataTable because of the Range I cant predict or now)
  • Another way ?

here the code I used to filter and compensate typing lack. not really what i hoped…

(from row in datatableCsv.AsEnumerable()

where DateTime.ParseExact(row.Field(“Date”),“dd/MM/yyyy”,System.Globalization.CultureInfo.CurrentUICulture) >= startDate
&& DateTime.ParseExact(row.Field(“Date”),“dd/MM/yyyy”,System.Globalization.CultureInfo.CurrentUICulture) < endDate.AddDays(1)
select row).CopyToDataTable()

Thank you for your help

@Frederic_DIDIER
welcome to the forum

You can have a look to the generate DataTable activity and its different configuration options. Maybe working with the auto detect column type will serve your needs.

However the datatable’s row itemArray (reflecting the column values of the row) is of datatype Object() (Object Array). So in the general work the indication to the specific datatype is needed.

About your statement have a look here (VB and the use of And instead of &&):

(from row in datatableCsv.AsEnumerable()
let pd = DateTime.ParseExact(row.Field("Date").toString,"dd/MM/yyyy",System.Globalization.CultureInfo.CurrentUICulture)