Concatenation

Hi everyone, I am a baby coder

I am trying to build an internal office solution with UIPath that requires me to change the parameters below into variables.
I don’t know how to convert the day, month, and year in the string below into variables without getting an error.
I would love some help on getting it done, and an understanding of why I am finding it hard to figure out.

Here is the task:
I have defined two variables:
filename = “C:\Users\YINKA\Downloads\Bp_08_19_2020.csv”
sheetname = “Bp_08_19_2020”

As you can see, they are both dates. How do I make the dates variable so that when I conduct the exercise on 08/29/2020, these variables are renamed to 08_29_2020 or any date I choose to run the program?

Thanks in advance, Gurus!

1 Like

Hello

Plenty of bigger gurus than me but could you use the string.replace method?

Step 1:
sheetname.Replace(“/”, “_”)

Step 2:
Then in an assign activity:
Sheetname = “Bp_” + Sheetname

I am sure you will have another solution soon.
Check out @Adrian_Star’s mega post:

Cheers

Steve

Check this below workflow, @ydaramola
Change_Date_Representation.xaml (5.1 KB)
Hope this may help you :slight_smile:

Thank you very much gurus @Steven_Mckeering! and @Manish540. I have used your ideas and contributions to shorten my program. It works pretty good, but I am still stuck at the point where I have to
get UIPath to understand that “‘C:\Users\YINKA\Downloads'+sheetname+’.csv’” refers to the changing filename. It does not understand that. So I am probably not concatenating right, most likely.

1 Like

Thank you very much gurus @Steven_Mckeering! and @Manish540. I have used your ideas and contributions to greatly shorten my program. It works pretty good, but I am still stuck at the point where I have to get UIPath to understand that “‘C:\Users\YINKA\Downloads'+sheetname+’.csv’” refers to the changing filename. It does not understand that. So I am probably not concatenating right, most likely.

1 Like

Hello again