Check copy paste folders it's complete

Hello guys. I’m new to UiPath and i’m encountering the following problem.

I have to copy a folder to a designated path from where to give access to users to download it.
What it’s the best approach in order to find out when the download it’s completed and announce the user that he can download the folder (share folder).
The size of folders may vary from 100 MB to 5 GB, so I need to find a way when/how to be sure the download is completed.

Thanks for help.

You could use the File Exists activity in a do while loop, maybe delay the sequence every 10 seconds as it loops. If you make the output of File Exists your condition:

FileExists = False

If the size is that big, I’ll suggest increase the delay time and retry to 100 +

Hope this helps :slight_smile:

is this the activity i need to use?

Starting with v2018.2, this activity is deprecated.

I was actually thinking of this, though its called Path Exists

The problem I have had with this is that the path exists before all the files are transfered.

@sLenTT, do you copy and paste it or cut and paste? If cut & paste you are able to use this to see if the old path is gone.

Have you looked at using the File Change Trigger functionality inside Monitor Events?

You could potentially loop that with the file size output at the end each time. If the size hasn’t changed between each loop, you can assume its completed. Maybe put a 10 second delay between each loop.

It’s copy and paste. I thought using path exist also, compare size or number of files in folder. Because the folders can vary 100 MB - 5 GB i probably need a greater delay.

Here is a sample solution. You will need to download package: Bala.Reva.DirFileSize.Activities

Then you can loop through until it is completed and they have the same size. Until that point it will be an infinite loop though, so they will need exactly the same size!

DirectorySize.zip (12.5 KB)

I had come up with a very similar solution to @SJonsson