Bot Migration to third party cloud

Hi,

I want to understand what are the challenges one would face or things to keep in mind while migrating a robot from on prem to third party cloud.

Can someone please help?

Thanks!

Hi @songoel,

The migration itself will be quite smooth as you only have to use a machine-template in modern folders and connect the robot cloud VM to it.

My background is in Azure so the following is what I would have looked for before migrating a robot / orchestrator to Azure

1. Your cloud VM would also have some planned and unplanned downtime so please consider having a contingency plan. For eaxmple, an important case is to be processed but robot is down.
  2. Most cloud providers charge your outbound traffic, so you will have to consider how your dispatcher process is setup and if the amount of data transfering from your robot to orchestrator is not going to drastically increase your consumption. If your orchestrator and robots are in the same region/avalilability zone this may not be a huge challenge.
  3. Storage: all bot VMs will need their dedicated storage disks, which you probably have evaluated
  4. Restart schedules. You will need to consider restaring VMs automatically to keep the system available for clean robot runs. This is not necessary, but a good to have protocol
  5. The robot communication with the orchestrator may be quite slower when compared to a onpremises connection. This can mean that your robot execution times will be slightly higher as well. (Here I am assuming you will have a hybrid-cloud setup with orchestrator onpremises and robot on a cloud VM).
  6. Data residency: if your robot is processing sensitive data then your country/company may also have a requirement that your robot and orchestrator must be located within national boundries. This will mean the Database will also have to reside in the same resource-group/region/availability zone.