Automated typing in browser too fast, doesn't register the correct string

Hello guys!
I am pretty new to RPA with UiPath, still doing the Introduction to the RPA Developer Course.
I am doing one of the exercises in the course, the one which gets the current time in Bucharest (I believe you might be familiar with this).

I am following the steps precisely, however when robot is typing the search string “current time in Bucharest” into the Google Search bar (of Internet Explorer, that is what the video is doing), apparently the typing is too fast or something, because the search string comes up as “currnt tmen Bucast” or some other nonsense like that.

Can you tell me what is happening (maybe it is something to keep in mind for the future), and how can I solve it?

I did some digging around on my own, and I think I got it.

When performing a typing process, a Type Into process is created. If you click on this process, on its Properties (tab shown on the right), under Options, there is a DelayBetweenKeys option.

Apparently its default value is 10 milliseconds, which is a bit too fast. I tried 100 ms and it worked perfectly. 100 might be too much, so some trial and error until you find the fastest time which performs robustly would be the best option.

Hope this helps! :smiley:

2 Likes

Do you guys happen to know how to change the default value of 10ms to something else?

1 - Open Browser + 10 milsec
2- Delay 00:00:05
3- Perform all the next activities

I don’t think you got my point…

Whenever I create a new Type Into process, I want the default delay to be different than the current default (10ms), meaning the delay between the keystrokes.

Or maybe can you be more specific? I do not see how to do what you did?

I think i do:

Option 1:

Option 2:
test2

You clearly did not understand my point.

The default attribute of the Type Into activity, which I want to change, is DelayBetweenKeys.