Auto login - unattended automation

Hi
Just like BluePrism LoginAgent I want UIPath robot to login to a machine. How can I do this. My robot version is 2017.1.6522

1 Like

Hello there,
Only by Orchestrator .

@ddpadil he orchestrator article you linked talks about how a user accessing orchestrator can be auto-logged into orchestrator.

However, the question here is different. I have a limited understanding of UIpath. I am still learning. Please excuse my ignorance.

Question: Assuming that we need a process to run in un-attended mode and scheduled (to run every hour) from Orchestrator, will the robot login to the designated virtual machine automatically and start the process? Or is there another method to attain this?

Hi @kirankc

Short answer: yes. The unattended robot’s strength is exactly what you described.
Granted, there are a few pre-conditions:

• robot is installed as Service (see here), so that it is available for all accounts
  • the virtual machine is running
1 Like

Thank you @loginerror.

That answers it. Can you also help me understand (or point me to an article) how UIpath attains it. I have challenges being able to get the robot to auto login to the virtual machine and start the job. The job starts fine if I login to the virtual machine with the robot ID using RDP. Otherwise it doesn’t work.

I have read a few articles related to this issue. One solution was to use “launch workflow interactive”. But I know of other robots in the same environment which are able to auto login with the normal workflow invoke activity.

So I am trying to find out what my robot is missing.

I am looking for an article which talks in detail about the prerequisites that are to be satisfied for the robot to be able to run unattended. (like… coding practice, setup in orchestrator, setup of the virtual machine etc…) This there an elaborate article for this particular purpose?

@kirankc
You can check the following points: