How to throw BRE properly (error code 1002)

Hello everybody.

I’m a beginner in UiPath and I’m doing a case just to learn REFramework better. It’s a very simple case of checking on a website if the input is valid (not complex for REF) but I just wanted to learn how to handle exceptions. When this input is invalid I wanted to make the transaction a Business Exception. The process flow is basically like this:
Type into (input) > Get attribute from the answer(“valid” or “false”) > Trhow BRE if false.
I’ve tried try catch many times but gives me the error of no queue item exists(1022). Also tried with Set transaction status but i know it has been deprecated. How would I try catch and trhow BRE in this case?

Thanks in advance!

Use the Throw activity and in it put:

New BusinessRuleException(“your desired error message”)

1 Like

I’ve tried several times. :frowning:
How can I add throw catch into this flow.
ConfereCPF.xaml (20.8 KB)

You don’t want to use a Try/Catch as this prevents the thrown exception from being addressed by REF.

If I add “throw” after the “invalid” option it says queue item does not exists.

The throw isn’t the issue. It’s the Set Transaction Status activity that is erroring. The Throw causes REF to jump to code that handles the exception. Run this in Debug mode so you can see where it jumps to and which activity errors.

Are you pulling items from a queue to run this?

In debug mode.

Yes I’m pulling from a queue.
First I add items from excel file to the queue and then I run the process…
Maybe something wrong with the process structure or as you said in the set transaction activity. Perhaps I need to change something in the .xaml of the transaction set?

It’s supposed to stop at the Throw in Debug mode. Debug stops when there’s an error, and Throw is an error. Click the Continue button at the top of Studio.

First ‘continue’