What's the Point of ElasticSearch/Kibana in Orchestrator?

I apologize if this has already been covered (I tried doing a quick search) or if this is posted in the wrong place (first time using the forums).

I’m trying to figure out what the purpose of using ElasticSearch/Kibana would be in Orchestrator (full disclosure, I’m extremely new to the ElasticStack). Is Orchestrator literally just dumping the same logs that you can find in Orchestrator into ElasticSearch so that you can do analytics and stuff using Kibana? Does it add different details that you can’t get in Orchestrator? Is it pushing more than just logs? Unfortunately with how new I am to the ElasticStack, I was even fighting an uphill battle just trying to find the data that’s in the ElasticSearch instance to see if it had any value beyond what I can see in Orchestrator. I’m not necessarily looking for a super in-depth, time-consuming answer, but if anyone had any insight it would be super helpful.

Thanks!

2 Likes

By default out of box if you were to connect Orchestrator to ElasticSearch / Kibana it would send the Robot logs. If you are using an On-Prem Orchestrator you can review the UiPath.Orchestrator.dll.config and the define NLog Targets and also have the option of defining your own if you wanted other information to be sent to ES.

So to your question, yes the same logs are being dumped to ES, but not all the logs out of box.
The general idea IMO is to offload any additional impact of reporting off the core database for performance, but also generally speaking it is recommended to keep your DB limits in check for similar performance reasons.

ES indexes the data and then Kibana you build the dashboards/reports with.