How to avoid finding duplicate/similar text in website?

Hi Everyone,

I’m pretty new to UiPath, need some help here.
I have a variable in which i have name of individuals recorded (string data type) , i’m trying to find those texts in a website, by using send hotkey ctrl+f and search for the person’s name and when found click on it. But bot is not able to find unique records, for example- If I’m trying to find “UAT 5” it is finding and clicking on “UAT 54” as that is listed above “UAT 5” in the website.

How do I correct this? also i have a lot of names in the website which requires scrolling down the page also, that is the reason i was using ctrl+f as it searched the name in entire website.

I also tried this using “find text” activity followed by “click text”, it still found and clicked on “UAT 54” instead of “UAT 5” as “UAT 54” was listed on top and above “UAT 5” and for “UAT 5” we will have to scroll down till the end of page.

Any help is highly appreciated, thank you so much!

1 Like

Hey @Swati4

I feel using CTRL + F may not be an optimal way to do this.

Kindly could you please try using the selector approach please to perform the same with more accuracy. (dynamic selector)

Hope this helps.

Thanks
#nK

1 Like

Hey @Swati4 ! As @Nithinkrishna said, using CTRL+F is neither a reliable approach nor a good practice and the ideal would be to follow the solution of using a dynamic selector with these texts that you want to search and then use simulate click to perform the click without scrolling down.

Hope it helps!

1 Like

Hi @gabrielribas4 Thank you for your response. I’m new to UiPath and not sure how dynamic selector will work, could you please guide me here how do I use dynamic selector? My variable-“Individual” (“Individual” is the name of my variable) contains all the names which i want to search one by one and if found click on it, i have a for each loop running for Variable -“Individual”, how do i use dynamic selector here?