How to implement RPA & best practice?

Hi,

I am relatively new to RPA industry as a developer of 2 years, my current company has several bots in place now but little process framework, documentation, etc. There are license keys, VM, user credentials, all sitting in various messy Excel files and we are doing everything very “agile” but probably too much so.

I believe some of our bots are not ideal for RPA even, such as a bot which takes a database extract file, transforms the data, then outputs to a cleaned file. I’m not sure if RPA is best suited in some scenarios like this.

I am looking to revamp our team setup, document everything correctly, and improve the way we do things overall but I’m not quite sure where to start. I’d love to know how other companies would implement RPA correctly? Are there any resources out there or template files to help with managing our team/pipeline of projects etc? I’d love to know what best practice is and totally revamp the way we are currently doing things.

Some of the areas of concern I have is data security, Config files sitting in network folders for bots which contain usernames/passwords, and we often share the generic user account so others can login to the VM and run the bot. (no orchestrator…) I want to move away from doing this as sharing generic accounts is a big risk. We also don’t have a concrete way of planning our pipeline of projects and scheduling things correctly. Sometimes projects will stall, we prioritise another, and before we know it our pipeline is no longer reflective of the current targets.

I realise this is a vague and broad topic. Any help appreciated. I’m blessed and cursed that I’m the only technical member of the team so hopefully I can revamp things so we can establish strong RPA framework and are ready for new staff in future.

2 Likes

@Jon_G