Count number of files with variable

Legends,

I am new to building BOTs.
I am trying to find the number of files - PDF, with similar number in the name.
STRORDERNUM - is a string which i defulat to 36 for my testing however this variable flows from different flows

My Variable
FILENUM = Directory.GetFiles(“--------DATA\06. PNT - Plant\01 Planning\14. Work Order Generator\Work Orders"+”_“+strOrderNum+”.pdf").length

so if strordernum = 20
file names like
A_20_SAB.pdf
B_20_XYZ.pdf

FILENUM = 2
However everytime i run i get illegal character message

@Saurabh_Grover
From the example file names you provided; the file name pattern is *_orderNumber_*.pdf

VB

Dim OrderNumber = 20
Dim NumberOfFiles = System.IO.Directory.GetFiles("C:\users\abc\Desktop\reports\", "*_" & OrderNumber & "_*.pdf").Length

C#

var OrderNumber = 20;
var NumberOfFiles = System.IO.Directory.GetFiles(@"C:\users\abc\Desktop\reports\", "*_" + OrderNumber + "_*.pdf").Length;

In C# code note the @ symbol to escape the \ character. If you are not using @, you need to use double slash (\\) instead of single slash (\).

1 Like

Thank you KannanSuresh,
have managed to find number of files by C#, appreciate your prompt reply.
Can you please suggest - I am trying to merge PDFs, where
A_2_Z.pdf
B_2_X.pdf

2 = strordernum, for this i have used below which i think gives me an error, can you suggest

Filelist - {“M:-----------\14. Work Order Generator\Work Orders",”“+strOrderNum+”.pdf",“M:\M487----------------t\01 Planning\14. Work Order Generator\Work Orders",”“+strOrderNum+”.pdf"}

I am trying to attach files like below
A_2_Z.pdf
B_2_X.pdf

New File - 2_C

System.IO.Directory.GetFiles will give you a string array of the files that match the criteria. Find file names using that instead of concatenating string.

1 Like

Dear Kanan,